A quick rewind moment: It’s June 2023, Julia had just taken the MCATs, our parents were in Africa, and I had come home to help out with the dogs and make sure Julia was eating while she studied. After the test, we decided we needed a nice celebratory dinner. We chose a restaurant called Bricco’s. Needless to say, this was one of the best meals I’ve ever had, and I live in NYC. The other context to give is that I am a CHOColate girl – through and through. I’m known to have chocolates in my pockets, and I typically always need a good chocolate palette cleanser post a meal. If there’s a dessert menu, I order the chocolate cake. Every. Time. 

Well, not that night. We ordered a lemon olive oil cake. It had whipped cream and scrumptious berries. It was, and this is the only word I have for it, perfection. I dream about this cake. I tried to replicate this cake. I tried other lemon olive oil cakes. Nothing compares. 

When I was home in CT back in December, I was thrilled. It meant I could get my lemon olive oil cake. My mom, Julia, Cecily, and I ventured to West Hartford (a good 30 minutes), and decided that after a SolidCore class, we deserved some Bricco’s. I was GIDDY. We sat down, we ordered our food, and it was, again, delightful. Our waiter came back and asked if we wanted the dessert menu. 

“We know what we want,” I replied. “The lemon olive oil cake.” 

“The lemon torte?” He asked. 

“No,” I said. “The olive oil cake, with the berries and whipped cream.”

“Hm, I am not sure that’s on the menu.” I blinked. “Well, our menus are seasonal, so the dessert rotates.”

“You’re kidding.” He blinked back at me. “I’ve been dreaming about this cake since I was here in June.” He laughed and apologized and then tried to sell me on the lemon torte. 

“Are you sure there’s not some in the back? Is it frozen? When does it come back?” At this point, he definitely was enjoying my dramatics, and, much to my dismay, he checked and came back with a negative answer. He wasn’t sure it ever came back, but that it was a spring and summertime item.

OK – fast forward. 

I am home in CT for the weekend. It’s nearly April. That means… maybe… the lemon olive oil cake??? Is it back??? Could it be??? I dial the number. 

“Hi, I was wondering what your dessert menu is currently.”

“Um, I’m not sure. Um –” She stammered. It was obviously not a common question. 

“To specify, I’m wondering if the lemon olive oil cake is on it.” A couple more stammers. 

“Oh, hm, no, I don’t think so.” Sob (internal). 

“Ugh, do you know when it’s coming back? I love this cake.” She laughed and she said she thinks the summer, maybe May.
“Well, you can expect another call in May from me. Wait, also, can I order a whole cake?”
“Yeah, you can order any full cake that’s on the menu.”

“Oh, so they wouldn’t make me a cake even if it’s a specialty order. Dang.” She laughed again.

We said goodbye. 

4 responses

  1. Oh my gosh. I am so sad for you. I feel like you need to talk to the chef. I hope that one day, your dreams come true!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You’ll have to let us know when the cake it back. I feel like we will all need to make the drive.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How do your pocket chocolates not melt!?!?!?! Ugh I hope u get to taste that cake again. What a lackluster ending for a lackluster phone call.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh no! I feel your pain. There are desserts I had 10+ (maybe even 20+) years ago that I still remember and wish I could go back and get again. You’ll have to start calling Bricco’s in June, and use their answer to determine when to make another visit home.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started