Wow. Happy last day of slicing (for March) (in 2024). I’ll be back. In true last day fashion, I had so many moments today that my mother and I could barely decide what I should write about. 

Today, my grandmother met us at our house at one so we could drive to Worcester to meet my sisters for brunch. Cecily ended up coming home from school Saturday so we took two cars to meet Julia. In my car, I had my grandmother and my mother. Three generations of women! We talked for the first 15ish minutes, and then, as the driver, I made the executive decision that Beyonce’s new album was to be played. Loudly, so they could really understand. I informed them about her desire to be genreless and not fit into one genre. I didn’t really need to, since the album has intro tracks that explain just that. I like to be musically informed. It’s something I take some amount of pride in with my family, as I (usually??) feel like it’s my niche. 

LC sat in the backseat reading through all of our slices she’d missed. We’d hear a chuckle every now and then, and we’d ask what was making her laugh. 

“Julia’s cycling class. That was very funny.” 

“Julia’s Matthew story. Very funny.” Julia! Crushing it. 

Finally, she got to my mom’s obit and I eventually got some love. 

We arrived at the restaurant after making it through the whole album, which my grandmother declared “just fantastic.” She’d liked to listen to it “many more times.” 

We had ~subpar~ food, watched basketball, and shouted at each other over loud music. 

We drove home (I drove again). We greeted the dogs. We got LC situated in her car. 

“Help!” We heard LC panic shout toward us. We all looked toward her, eyebrows raised. 

“My car won’t start!” She waved her hands in the air. My dad and I went to check it out. My dad got in the car. My dad pressed start. Sure enough, the car wouldn’t start. I grabbed our car so we could jump it. It wouldn’t start. In fact, it started smoking. 

We drove LC home (I drove again). We drove home (I drove again). We arrived to my dad still in the car tinkering. Now, it’s a Volvo, and Volvos have Volvoisms. They’re funky. They’re unique, and they take pride in that. I knew my dad was not going to get this car to start, but he didn’t know that apparently. Spoiler alert, the car is still dead on the cul de sac, and he is inside the house now. 

For a girl that lives in a city without a car, I certainly got my fix this weekend. For a girl that came home expecting some quiet relaxation time, I certainly have experienced some chaos, and I’m enjoying the quiet of the house now, without any basketball, without any sisters (although I love them), and with dogs not screaming. 

I will miss slicing! I will miss my commenters and commenting! Thank you all for making this experience so fun and unique. I can’t wait to join you all next year. 

This is The Bam Cam, signing off. 

One response

  1. Hahahahah okay this is all making so much more sense now. I’m glad I got to read the entire thing to really clear it up

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started