“Clare, are you knitting?”

“Not right now!” I’ve been known to sometimes knit in our team meetings. I actually have found it helps me stay focused on the conversation as long as I’m not in a challenging part of the pattern.
“Well, do you have a new project?”

“Yes I do!”
“Can we see it?”

My coworkers were very supportive of my hobby, and almost weekly, asked for updates on my projects. I pulled my new, barely there project from my bed and held it up to the camera. 

“It’s not much but it will be a summer cardigan!”

“Oh my gosh, I just love the color. Oh my gosh, you have to make your own little tags. We should think of your brand name.” We were meeting regarding our strategic initiative definitions. 

“Clare, where are your other projects? You have to show Chad.” Chad has been on paternity leave for the last four months. 

I giddily ran for my three sweaters and proudly showed them off.

“The blue one is still my favorite,” Sapna commented.

“Oh, wow! Those are really good. How long does one take you?” 

“Well it depends if I am reading a good book or not,” I joked. “It’s hard for me to choose between knitting and reading.”

“When did you get into knitting?”

“Oh, like the second week of January.”

“January… as in two months ago? And you have three sweaters?”

“See how much you missed Chad? Didn’t you miss us?” Kimberley laughed. 

“And two scarves!” Sapna chimed in.

Chad shook his head but smiled. “My daughter is soon to be wearing six-month-clothing just so you know.” 

We had now spent nearly ten minutes on knitting talk instead of strategic planning. No complaints from me.

3 responses

  1. Send pictures, please! I love the balance between background and current events in this story. You reveal a few key things about yourself, but stay with the story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love how the dialogue tells the story. And shows how friendly and supportive your co-workers are. Now, I guess you have to get busy on a sweater sized 6 mos.?!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Leigh Anne Eck Avatar
    Leigh Anne Eck

    I agree with Melanie–I was looking forward to pictures! I can’t believe you have only been doing this since January. That is impressive. The use of dialogue added so much to this slice!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started