I walked through the East Village on a mission with my friend Kelsey to find the perfect cafe to sit in the window, have an afternoon coffee and croissant, and knit with. She wanted to learn how to increase stitches. I was taking her to a favorite of mine, Le Phin. We walked the seven blocks downtown and pushed the door open into bodies. Bodies, bodies, bodies. Everyone had the same idea this overcast Sunday afternoon. 

“Hm.” I said. “I guess we should try the next one.” 

Kelsey pushed the door back open and out we went. I took her to another favorite of mine, this one a bigger one, Abraco. We walked the three blocks farther downtown and pushed the door open to bodies. Bodies, bodies, bodies. All the tables were full here too. 

“Hm!” Kelsey said. “Any others you know?”

I pushed the door back open and out we went. We walked over to Avenue A and peered in the windows of a few others. No dice. Each one seemed to be fuller than the last. After the sixth coffee shop, I was ready to give up. 

“I have one more,” I said. 

I opened the door to The Roost, a cozy speakeasy cafe minutes away from my apartment, and peered in the door leading to their fire place room. Two seats were just opening right in front of the fire, and they happened to be the best seats in the room. Cozy chairs, velvet fabric, and warm. We hurried to put down our bags and each ordered a cappuccino and a croissant. The bright side, we got our steps in before the rain, got the best seats out of the seven cafes we tried, I had a great cappuccino, our walk back to my apartment was only three minutes, and Kelsey learned how to increase her stitches. 

One response

  1. It’s good to meet you, Clare. We moved from Long Island to Northern Virginia a couple of years ago so it is fun to read a slice about NYC. I see it is as busy as ever but I am glad that you were able to find a restaurant that had 2 prime seats by the fire. I like your positive attitude. It is fun to read about the city. We had an incessant amount of rain all day Saturday and thunderous booms right before bed. The rain must have traveled from Virginia to NY. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started