Based on the timestamp post yesterday, I think it’s clear I had a later night than usual for a sunday. I watched the Oscars, and, if you all read, had a later coffee than usual as well. I climbed into bed and could. not. sleep. This is really unlike me. I can usually sleep no matter what, have never tapped into insomnia like Larkin and my mom, and I really value my eight hours a night (which, apparently, is actually too little for women). So I was not happy. I pulled out my kindle and read a few chapters of my book. I’m currently reading The Keeper of Hidden Books, which while good, is so far very sad. After a few chapters, I didn’t find my eyelids drooping at all. One of my 2023 investments was a Hatch alarm clock. It wakes you up with the sunrise and has bedtime stories, a white noise machine, and doesn’t need your phone. I’ve never used the bedtime stories feature, but last night I found myself listening to A Thief in the Night. A woman narrated a story while waves crashed and crickets chirped. The story was charming: a queen fairy woke to find her mustard plant stolen from her garden, which set off quite the search party. Eventually, the thief was found. A young boy took the mustard plant because he was an artist and he ran out of the color blue and was in the middle of his sky. The mustard plant’s seeds have natural blues that paint can be made from. 

That I can tell you what this story was about and how it ended probably tells you that I did not fall asleep. I tossed and turned a bit more, and eventually turned on the next tale, A Search for Lions. I cannot tell you whether it was even a man or a woman talking. 

I received a picture of someone’s wedding invitation today (a different one than previously discussed). All I saw was “BEOUR.” WHAT is BEOUR??? I could not figure it out. I put it away. I took it back out when I got another text. I looked at it again, thinking how strange of an invitation it was. BEOUR. Beour. Be our. Oh. Be our… Guest. The next line said Guest. 

My 10pm bedtime post Bachelor will be strict tonight. 

4 responses

  1. Haha this post is speaking to me. I too have spent time analyzing the subtext of sleep stories from cover to cover, which I believe is a violation of my Calm App’s user agreement

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hahaha…I’ve done that, too. It’s always amazing what your brain will do when it is sleep deprived. I enjoyed your Slice and it made me laugh. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sleep is very UNDERRATED! I love the way you describe your efforts to WILL yourself to sleep. Hope tonight is a better night.

    Like

  4. No!!! Don’t get the sleepless syndrome! Hope you’re drinking your chamomile tea during the Bachelor! And yes, you made me laugh also! I couldn’t figure out the point of the wedding invitation at first, and then it was even funnier! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started