I received a few images of my dad and little sister frolicking around Paris this morning. Cecily was looking fashionable – I take some credit after the 20+ pictures I got asking for outfit help over the weekend. They both dawned umbrellas and raincoats, and I grinned a little to myself as I looked out the window to the bright sun and blue sky. They might be in Paris, but I get the sunshine. We take the wins where we can.

A year ago, you might remember that I was invited on my dad and Cecily’s seemingly annual daddy-daughter-on-spring-break trip to Charleston. I did not receive such an invitation to Paris to my dismay. I did, however, have the opportunity to visit a friend in Paris this previous December. Seeing their pictures in front of Notre Dame, their cafe au laits, and just strolling the beautiful streets made me so reminiscent and happy that I decided to go. 

I’m not a characteristically spontaneous person. In fact, just yesterday, I planned a bachelorette party to the hour just about. Paris was spontaneous. Paris was planned barely a month in advance and continues to serve as a reminder to me to book the tickets! Spend the money (vomit)! Visit that friend! Take pictures. Say yes. Take the type A and teeter the scale a bit. 

I took a redeye flight there with a seat that didn’t recline. A couple movies and a couple hours of sleep later, it was 9am in Paris, and I was ready to go. My (only) four days there consisted of 30,000 steps, six landmarks within four hours, a few bottles of wine, and being eternally grateful I had a friend who spoke French. We trained to Strasbourg for the Christmas market, stopping in Hermes and pretending we belonged there, tricking the associates into showing us their favorite scarves. We visited the Arc de Triomphe at sunset and bought 2024 Olympics mugs. We strolled through and around an empty Versailles and took pictures jumping off the steps like we were the queen. We found raclettes to eat in front of the Eiffel Tower, went shopping in the le Marais district, took pictures imitating statues at the Louvre, and stopped in more cafes than I can count. The blisters and exhaustion were definitely worth it. I also can now order a coffee in French!

Here’s hoping Garth and Cecily have just as magical a time. And if you’re debating something at the moment, here’s my reminder to say yes more. 

4 responses

  1. For those of us who are planners, going off on a trip within a month sounds hard! We are campers, and need to plan far out if there is a particular place we want to visit. This last year we did have some, “Hey, let’s see if we can go somewhere next weekend!” Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn’t. I like the reminder you leave the reader with – say yes more!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes!! When I nervously asked my boss about taking a week off, he looked at me like I was crazy and said “Of course you should do that… we will make it work over here.” Sometimes we just need that push.

    Like

  3. Love the moment that leads into the memories and then circles back and moves to reflection. What a great way to write!

    Like

  4. Making space beyond the planned puzzle pieces is no easy task sometimes – nicely done! I felt like I was Paris-ing right alongside you.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started