My work day ends at 4, which, now that the sun shines until 7:30 here in New York, makes me feel like I have a whole day to live after sitting at the computer for hours. Yesterday, I took my lunch hour to workout, so after work, I took my book and knit project out to the benches and consumed the vitamin D. Many other people had the same idea, and it was great to see all the life being breathed back into New Yorkers after our annual hibernation. Most people scrolled on their phones, chatted to someone next to them, and there were a few readers. I’m proud to say I was the only knitter. I like to think it’s a little mysterious. A family strolled by, commenting “oh look a knitter! Sweetie, do you see what she’s doing? That’s called knitting!” 

The problem with the newfound daylight is that my routine is disrupted. My plan yesterday was to go back to the apartment after my sun time and cook dinner before seeing Dune 2 at 7:30. I went back and was not hungry. Something about the sun being out makes me think that it’s not dinner time yet. I knew I would regret not eating so I started to cook around 6:45. I don’t know why I thought that was enough time, but I was confident. My roommate and I started a game of Bananagrams. Why we thought we had enough time for that, I also don’t know. I looked over at her board after she had said peel twice in a row. I don’t lose. 

“Gabby, what is BZ?”

“Huh?” I pointed to the word on her board. 

“Oh, well hm. Didn’t see that! Wait, does that mean I can’t have URL or TBD either?”

We both started laughing as I shook my head. 

“I told you I didn’t know what a proper noun was to be fair.” I’m not even sure URL and TBD are proper nouns but we didn’t get into that.

I suddenly looked at the clock and saw that it was already 7:05. As the oven dinged, I realized how rushed we were all going to be for this movie. It was still light out! I smushed my food into my mouth by 7:15, called for our other roommate and announced I would be cleaning later. 

We got to the movie with extra time and as it was still light out. I think it was because I hurried them along, encouraging fast walking – you should google olympic speed walking if you want a laugh. 

I realize this slice might have five in one, but I think it’s a good window to where my brain was at 7pm last night. Here’s hoping I get a bit more used to eating dinner while the sun is still out. 

3 responses

  1. The beginning of your slice was calming, with your knitteing and being outdoors and the end was rushed, when you had to get to the movie. Interesting contrast.

    Like

  2. Why do I feel I have to teach your roommate the rules for bananagrams?!

    I laughed when you said your slice might be five in one.The moment when you were the model of knitting for the child was a good one all in itself- I really enjoyed that image. But a slice showing your long day after work, calm then rushed (Like Juliette commented) is really nice to read.

    Like

  3. Yes, there are a pile of slices in this post, but I loved reading all of them. You definitely need to go over Bananagram rules, and I want to see what you’re making. Loved the (I don’t lose.).

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started