Five flights… 55% done with my book… 60% done with my knitting project… Uh oh.

Of course I can find another book, worst case I can buy one if my libby waitlist fails me. I can make it to the knit store. No problem. Nice little walk. It’s nice out and work isn’t busy. 

I scampered out of my apartment. Larkin was chattering away in my ear, and I was fully confident I could accomplish this mission within 20 minutes. 

“Hm, it’s kind of oddly drizzling,” I commented to Larkin.
“Hm,” she grunts back, continuing on with her story. 

“Oh, crap, it’s like kind of actually raining. Of course the one time I leave my apartment it starts raining.” She acknowledges it again, but we keep chatting. It really did start pouring. I ran to get under an awning when I saw two figures I recognized. 

“Clare? Clare… Meehan? Could it be?” I quickly told Larkin I’d call her back. This wasn’t just a wave and keep walking encounter. Nick and Kyle both smiled, and Nick did a weird little saunter up to me with his arms outstretched. 

“Ohmygosh hi!” I met his hug and we all took cover under the awning together for the next 15 minutes. They were two close friends from college that I, despite living within 0.1 miles of them, never see. It’s something we could all do better with. 

“All I want is a cookie right now,” Kyle admits. My eyes went wide. This was a problem I was very prepared to assist with. 

“You could go to Veniero’s, or Smor, that’s actually right there. Or Chip city, that one just opened on 18th, a little farther of a walk though.” I was ready to list off another few options when I noticed them laughing at me. 

“She knows her cookies.” 

“I know my cookies.” Unapologetically might I add. 

We walked away from each other after promising to text each other and as the sun peeked out again. I continued my way to the knit store and called Larkin back, only to put her on hold once more once I got there and needed the associate’s help. 

“Now I’m so warm,” I complained as I walked home. “I’m in loose sweatpants and am sweating.”

“You’re in public in sweatpants?” 

“Huh?”

“You’re wearing sweatpants out in public?” She repeated. 

“I mean, I was just going to the yarn store, but yeah, I’m in sweats. I often am in sweats. Do you not wear sweatpants in public?” 

“No, never,” she answered. I was shocked. Should I not be in sweatpants in public? I see people constantly in sweatpants in public. 

I got home from my walk later than intended, worried about my attire, and wanting a cookie.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started