It was decided for me that I just HAD to get to the airport early to experience the new Capital One lounge in Denver. Is that exciting? Of course. Did I have to get here for over an hour? No. I flew through security with only one caveat, which, although I lost what I purchased and wrote about yesterday was a devastating loss, still could’ve been worse. 

I researched hard, meticulously planned, and remain nearly giddy recommending my big girl credit card to others. (Mom, just so you’re proud, that was originally written in passive voice and I rewrote it). New York airports remain under construction, continuing to promise new lounges, new airports, and new everything else. New York also promises a new East River walkway, new parks, and plenty of other stuff, so I don’t usually hold my breath. Now, the last time I was in Denver was in September, my flight was delayed seven (SEVEN) hours, and the lounge was one (ONE) week away from opening. You can imagine my unhappiness. 

The lounge is very nice. Everything is free, clean, tasty, and quiet. It’s big, has a hot bar for food, as well as grab and go items for your flights. I did not know what I was going to do for dinner, but I do now! I also, unfortunately, am not in the mood for a cocktail, however, it certainly is tempting… and free. 

If only the Purdue vs Utah State basketball game was a little closer. (Unfortunately for Larkin, Purdue is winning). 

All in all, it’s not a bad place to hang out and wait for a flight, ideally a layover. If I’m ever accidentally early for a flight out of Denver, I’ll surely be back. Intentionally early, though? Probably not again. 

3 responses

  1. Proud of that active voice, Clare! And I’m going to need an education about how to access the lounge. I don’t need to get there early, but I’d like it as an option! Safe travels!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg hahahah I just got off the phone with mom where I was complaining to her hard about freaking Purdue

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I snorted (sorry-not-sorry) when I read the line about the active voice revision!

    I always held onto my United club lounge passes and saved them for long layover/delay days. Oh, they were much lovelier places to pass the time rather than waiting among the hustle-and-bustle of the terminal.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started