While in Denver, I subjected my dear friend to her first Solid Core class. For those that may not know, Solid Core is a weird form of pilates that focuses on getting you in second stage muscle failure as much as possible. It’s slow and controlled, so at first glance, you’re pretty confident. By the second minute of the class, you’re deeply humbled. This is, by far, the hardest and most effective workout class I’ve ever done. If classes weren’t $42 a pop in NYC, I’d absolutely have a membership. But classes are $42 a pop, so I control myself. 

I got to Katie’s apartment, and it was TWO steps away. 

“Oh, my gosh, how are you not there all the time. You don’t pay for a gym membership and you work remotely. That’s a sign, sealed, and delivered for me.”

“I’ve never been.” That was all I needed. We signed up for a class that day. She came out of it, as predicted, deeply humbled. 

“That was the hardest class I’ve ever taken,” she admitted. I grinned, knowing she’d be hooked. 

Then I got a text last night:

I don’t know who John is, but we quickly became besties. If you read my post yesterday, you also know that I might’ve needed a laugh, so I made my own fun. I knew I couldn’t afford Solid Core, but Katie… 

Well, John sure enough followed up with Katie, and sure enough, threw me under the bus. John also convinced Katie into two weeks of unlimited classes. John also probably got a commission. I think I might deserve a cut of that too. But I got a needed laugh, and that might be enough. 

I’m a bit weary that in two weeks, John might get some more commission once Katie is entirely obsessed and hooked. I should be a Solid Core ambassador at this point. It might be cheaper to fly back to Denver for my free classes.

4 responses

  1. I’m intrigued—I haven’t heard of this class before. $42/class though—yikes! I enjoyed the funny text exchanges.

    Like

  2. Hahahaha yeah Katie is gonna be hooked. Two steps away I’d probably also be signed up. Sometimes I forget that it’s usually real humans behind those automated texts, ty for that reminder that I can mess with them from time to time.

    Like

  3. Those are some funny texts. I’m going to be curious to hear if Katie gets hooked. It’s a little addicting, for sure.

    Like

  4. But then she doesn’t get the 50 minute walk to class! Lame!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started